A 21 Day Spiritual Journey: Day 9

Today God has been speaking to me about opportunities and closed doors. More specifically that every opportunity opens one door and closes another.

A friend of mine teaches in many of his courses “Everything you say yes to means saying no to something else.”

Since I cannot be omnipresent this just makes sense. I can’t do everything. But again, walking through one door means I have to  leave behind a lot of what I had in the last place I found myself. The hoarder inside of me says this is bad, but God tells me “everyone who has given up houses or brothers or sisters or father or mother or children or property, for my sake, will receive a hundred times as much in return and will inherit eternal life.” MA 19:29

So I am changing, giving up what I must in order to attain the promises God has put deep inside of my heart. I know any pain I may experience in the closing of doors will be swallowed up in the great joy of knowing Christ.

What doors must you close to pursue the burning yes God has given you?

11 thoughts on “A 21 Day Spiritual Journey: Day 9

  1. My faith is increasing with each step in this journey. I am standing on His promises, On EARTH as it IS in HEAVEN!!! Praise God, that He is our Victorious Warrior! He goes before us and fights in the spiritual realm for us. Thank you, Jesus!

  2. Thanks Pastor J for reminding us to trust His doors and to recognize some doors are creations of our flesh that best remain closed to choose the narrow way of His will. Praying too that His Spirit directs our spirits in the way we should go. One door at a time as we move towards HIs Heavenly direction.

  3. I am thinking and praying about this one, Pastor J! I know what I have given up in the past, but want to stay close and know what there is in today to give up. Thank you and God bless you!

  4. I closed a door three years ago, a door I certainly didn’t want to close, but it was necessary to do so. It was so hard to give up the children’s and youth ministry I had been heavily involved in on a national level. At times I thought I couldn’t cope with the sudden ’emptiness’ but my God was my Rock and my Sustainer and it wasn’t long before He opened new doors – doors which have been a blessing to myself and to others, and which suit my altered circumstances.

    We serve an incredibly amazing God who knows us and knows what is best for us and leads us in HIS way for HIS purpose. What a privilege to serve Him!

    • The closing of doors is painful but it is the only way we can move on to the next level of growth God intends for us. I loved your post about the how hunters catch monkeys. While you used the illustration to speak about our need to let go of sins that beset us, the analogy also works for anything that holds us back from entering into God’s plans (even if they are old plans from God). I can only say Angela that you have been a great blessing to me in my work here at RTW and I am thankful that God’s plans for you have included ministering to me.

Leave a Reply

