Pastor Wrinkles: Hey Jude Pt. 13

“Likewise also these [filthy] dreamers defile the flesh, despise dominion, and
speak evil of dignities. Yet Michael the archangel, when contending with the devil he disputed about the body of Moses, durst not bring against him a railing accusation, but said, The Lord rebuke thee.” Jude 1:8,9

In our study through the book of Jude we have been discussing the nature of people who pose a danger to the church even though on the surface they may seem like religious pillars. If you have missed any of the discussion segments, they can be found here.

https://jelillie.wordpress.com/2012/09/01/pastor-wrinkles-hey-jude-pt-1/

https://jelillie.wordpress.com/2012/09/02/pastor-wrinkles-hey-jude-pt-2/

https://jelillie.wordpress.com/2012/09/06/pastor-wrinkles-hey-jude-pt-3/

https://jelillie.wordpress.com/2012/09/07/pastor-wrinkles-hey-jude-pt-4/

http://jelillie.wordpress.com/2012/09/08/pastor-wrinkles-hey-jude-pt-5/

https://jelillie.wordpress.com/2012/09/12/pastor-wrinkles-hey-jude-pt-6/

https://jelillie.wordpress.com/2012/09/13/pastor-wrinkles-hey-jude-pt-7/

https://jelillie.wordpress.com/2012/09/15/pastor-wrinkles-hey-jude-pt-8/

https://jelillie.wordpress.com/2012/09/16/pastor-wrinkles-hey-jude-pt-9/

https://jelillie.wordpress.com/2012/09/20/pastor-wrinkles-hey-jude-pt-10/

https://jelillie.wordpress.com/2012/09/21/pastor-wrinkles-hey-jude-pt-11/

https://jelillie.wordpress.com/2012/09/25/pastor-wrinkles-hey-jude-pt-12/

Jude points out, one way  the rebellion which characterizes the secret-slipper-inner manifests, is in treating the spirit world (even the dark spirit world) as a common thing that we humans are equal to. So we have movies like…

And television shows like…

While these Hollywood offerings have little to do with the church, a similar mindset has slipped into the church. I am concerned with some believers concentration on the Devil. I believe in a literal devil. I believe in spiritual warfare. I believe that there are many times when we are called to resist the Devil. But I believe that spiritual warfare is best fought in worship focused on the greatness of Jesus from a  position of waiting on the Lord. I believe that the best way to resist the Devil is to submit to God.

Many brothers and sister are being led astray by a teaching that makes them believe that because they have been filled with the Spirit they now have the chops to “give the Devil a black eye.” But that is what the seven sons of Sceva did in the book of Acts.

A group of Jews was traveling from town to town casting out evil spirits. They tried to use the name of the Lord Jesus in their incantation, saying, “I command you in the name of Jesus, whom Paul preaches, to come out!” Seven sons of Sceva, a leading priest, were doing this.  Acts 19:13-15

While the Holy Spirit who dwells in us is incomparably greater than the Devil who dwells in the world, He did not take up residence in us for the purpose of confronting the enemy. He entered into us so that we could be bold witnesses for Jesus (Acts 1:8). He entered into us for the purpose of causing healing and miracles to follow the preaching of the gospel.

Personally I am greatly encouraged by the knowledge that I don’t need to waste time focusing on the devil. I need all the time I have to worship Jesus!

12 thoughts on “Pastor Wrinkles: Hey Jude Pt. 13

  1. Oh AMEN, AMEN–I love this, Pastor J! The only time I give to the devil is when I stand up (firm in my position with Christ), put my hands on my hips and tell him in no uncertain terms to get out of my way–I’m busy doing the things of GOD. He’s a liar, a thief, a murderer–why would we entertain him in any way, shape or form? Not to mention, he’s really a “slow learner”–he seems to think he can still bug me and I’ll just roll over and whimper in the corner, like the “old days”. Sheesh! Meet the new improved, “Victorious” Caddo–“can’t touch me”! (Maybe I should wear a cape with a big V on it??) God bless you abundantly, Pastor J–love, sis Caddo

    • Amen Sis! The devil is a mighty foe but Jesus is mightier still and He will not turn us over to the enemy. Though the enemy rages, we will not be defeated because we’ve got the power in the name of Jesus!

  2. I have thought about this too, Pastor J . . .that he gains when we spend too much time thinking about him or talking about him . . .because he’s distracted us from Jesus. Praying for my main focus to be Jesus and doing what He wants me to do. If He wants me to command demons come out of someone, I am trusting that He will tell me to do it and give me the ability to too, for His glory. God bless you!

    • One of the greatest lessons I learned from our healing prayer class was that while there are times we may as intercessors need to do deliverance from a dark spirit praying for positive healing first is essential because it is that healing that binds the strong man and keeps Him from reasserting control once His position is removed. Pray in the positive to eliminate the negative. Submit to God to resist the Devil!

  3. I like how all I have to do is mention His name and the enemy slinks back. God is so good and I am grateful to Him for sending the Holy Spirit to help us. This is some good teaching, Pastor J. Thank you!

  4. I think it is a wonderful thing that we can focus on worshipping Jesus, Rather than concentrating on satan. Imagine what a miserable life we would have if that is all we did! Satan is much more powerful than us, but our Lord is infinitely stronger than the devil. Glory to God!

    • Amen brother! God is our victory and as lopng as we remain in Him and praise His name with our mouths opened wide He will silence the foe and the avenger through us. Psalm 8

  5. Good points as always. I have been astounded in recent years to see the huge increase in TV programs, books etc which focus on the occult, witches, vampires etc in various ways. I suppose I shouldn’t comment on them because I have never watched or read them, but I believe they are obviously of the devil and his forces.

    We are told not to be ignorant of satan’s devices. We need to be aware of his tactics and on guard, but we need to keep foremost in mind that he is a defeated foe. We do not have anything to do with him, apart from telling him to leave because Jesus has defeated him and he has no power over us. We do not linger in our thoughts of him, but rather praise God and worship Him, thanking Him for the victory He has gained for us.

    What an amazing God!

  6. Pingback: Pastor Wrinkles: Hey Jude Pt. 15 | Reinventing the We'll

  7. Pingback: Pastor Wrinkles: Hey Jude Pt. 18 | Reinventing the We'll

Leave a Reply

