Sunday Relevant and Healthy

When God made the church on the day of Pentecost he didn’t create a government though the church has governance. He didn’t create a school though the church has disciples.

He didn’t create a club though the church has fellowship.

He created a “body”. He made an organism with millions of “cells” each one having a special function which could only be carried out in the context of the greater whole.

I have been thinking about the church as I have moved through the paces of benevolence projects and fellowship luncheons these last weeks. The questions often asked me  are, “Is the church relevant today? Is it even healthy to be part of the corporate church?”

As to church relevance here’s what I know. The church will always be relevant in the world, not because we keep up with the times and the culture (though we should try to do that I think), but because it is THE created device in which people of God can express their power. God didn’t make any thing else for Christians to plug into. And we were born with a NEED to plug-in.

As to church health here’s what I know. Some things that call themselves “church” are not really “church”. If the organism doesn’t preach Christ crucified for the salvation of man, if it doesn’t teach the Bible as the authoritative word of God, if it doesn’t lead people into godly relationship with each other and ministry work, if it doesn’t point people towards a personal lifestyle of worshipping Jesus, it ain’t “church” no matter what sign hangs over the door. the perfect church doesn’t exist but health doesn’t require perfect. It just requires a commitment to live biblically before God in community.

As you gather this Sunday in your house of worship know that the songs, the ceremonies, the traditions are not as important as the purpose behind it all. Church is the most relevant thing a Christian can do! It is necessary! It is healthy!

I would love to hear your thoughts on the church! 

8 thoughts on “Sunday Relevant and Healthy

  1. Thank you for sharing what you know . . .from personal experience. I have heard some bad things about “church”. Currently I am not able to go to a church building, but still feel a part of the body. I still tithe to “my church” and consider it my home, the pastor, my pastor. All I can say is that I loved going while I could. It strengthened me. There was something so special about gathering to worship with one another.The messages almost always felt like they were just for me. It blessed me and gave me opportunities to serve others too.
    God bless you and your church! 🙂

    • Oh Deb! While church is healthy it certainly is not for the faint of heart! I too have had my fair share of church “experiences”. But God has used even these to mold me according to Romans 8:28. Your connection to your community of faith is so evident and powerful. It speaks volumes about the people that as someone who can not be there you yet feel a part. Praise God for that! I am assuming it is your inability to be out with the church that has inspired your blog and for that I can only thank Jesus for you have been used mightily in this on-line community to strengthen me! Thank you!

  2. I totally agree with your definition of what a Church should – and should not – be.
    I was a member (secretary) of a Church that, while not perfect by any means, fitted your description of what a Church should be. I guess we can expect the devil to attack such a place, and he did, but he shouldn’t have been victorious. It is now a shell with a handful of people and no real ministry.

    Thankfully, many of the people from there are now serving the Lord in other Churches, but we all have very fond memories of truly amazing things the Lord accomplished through that Christ-centred Church.

    I am happy to be part of a small Church now that does ‘fit the bill’ of what a Church should be. Of course it isn’t perfect, but it is striving to be a true witness and an effective means of reaching the community.

    We serve an amazing God and are privileged to have a part in His ministry.

    • A-men Angela. Like you I have walked through church “experiences” which are beyond difficult. I have watched as the enemy who should not be victorious is handed the victory. Yet the church remains.Where the Devil tries to stomp out the fire he succeeds only in spreading the embers to start other conflagrations! Hope is frail but it is impossible to kill!

  3. Great message. I think if we all served our part and just shared what we have been given with the world then it is always relevant. It is about the body and not the “church” as the world tries to define what it does not understand. Thanks Pastor J!

    • I think somewhere along the line in our culture we have created a distinction that was never meant to be. We say “church” and “body” as though they are mutually exclusive and really they are the same word…synonyms or should be. How sad that even the church has come to be afraid of the word church. Your comment is extremely insightful Tom and makes me kind of sad for something we the body and the church have lost. 😦

      • You are right, it is sad and it should be the same. It could just be me…but it seems the church works perfectly when each member of the body lives their lives together to share their gifts instead of just going to a building/organization to get something….I believe the early “church” was the “body” of believers who lived their lives together to encourage and spur each other on to all kinds of good works OUT of their belief and love for Jesus Christ. I can’t put my finger on it but now it seems we have redefined the church to be an institution that is set up to put this belief and love INTO the body…is it because us members of the body delegated the great commission to the whole? This does require more soul searching. you have made me think as to why I saw the two as separate…Thanks, jlillie

      • It is a topic worth studying for God is in the business of conforming us to the image of His son. This corporate paradigm shift is part of that work! It’s a topic worthy of study!

Leave a Reply

