Heaven Pt. 6

“And God said, “Let there be lights in the expanse of the sky to separate the day from the night, and let them serve as signs to mark seasons and days and years, and let them be lights in the expanse of the sky to give light on the earth.” And it was so.” Ge. 1:14,15 KJV

God created the sun to warm and light the earth. In like manner He sent Jesus into the world to warm and light our hearts.

“In him (Jesus) was life, and that life was the light of men. The light shines in the darkness, but the darkness has not understood it. John 1:4,5 NIV

The promise of Heaven, at least one of them, is light.

As a young man I got rather heavily involved with the New Age. I read books about communicating with the spirits of the dead. I read books about ghosts and angels. I read about witches and psychics. I practiced projecting my spirit out of my body. I channeled ghosts and spoke with “angels”. I was in darkness and didn’t even know it.

But the light of the world somehow knew my name and He reached out to me. It all started when a school friend of mine named Nancy started sharing with me about Jesus. She gave me these books called “the WatchTower”. I read them and liked them.

Then one day I was helping one of my teachers set up the classroom before school. I told him I had been studying with the Jehovah’s Witnesses. I think he sighed and then he ushered me into the teacher’s lounge, sat me down and explained the way to Jesus. Further he told me that Nancy, my Witness friend, didn’t have the truth because she didn’t follow Scripture.

At the same time my mother (who is not a Christ follower) noticed I was exploring faith and arranged for my Uncle Tom ( a born again believer) to begin taking me to the Assembly of God church plant in our town.

Jesus shone into my life just like the sun. I didn’t bid Him to reveal the truth anymore than I ask the dawn to come. He just revealed it. The only thing I had to do was to stop hiding myself in the shadows and He did the rest.

My thoughts of Heaven are all wrapped up in the thoughts of salvation, eternal life, revelation of God and oh so much more.

Tell me about when the way to Heaven was revealed to you!

 

8 thoughts on “Heaven Pt. 6

  1. I like this line: ”The only thing I had to do was to stop hiding myself in the shadows and He did the rest.” – mine was typically funny. At first, when a pastor witnessed to me about receiving Him, I just accepted because I want heaven, and going to hell is really a thing I can’t imagine. It was so shallow but it led me to a deep relationship with Him. I went again on the process of salvation and understood piece by piece that Heaven is through Him, not just for the sake of not going to hell. Thanks for sharing! 🙂

    • Really good Joyce! I think most of us started in a place of fearing the fires of Hell on our way to salvation. I have come to it that this is at least a piece of fearing the Lord which as we know is the BEGINNING of wisdom.

  2. After the second time I tried to take my life, I was at an exercise and aerobic place. One night it was just myself and the instructor / owner. She told me about Jesus and invited me to church ( also an Assemblies of God ). I was so desperate for the light, having been at the bottom in the dark for so long. I went forward at the first altar call, awash with tears. Oh happy day!
    God bless you Pastor J!

    • Yours is a powerful testimony Deb! Praise God for His victory in your life through the granting of life from death! May God bless you as you walk out the eternity of blessing He has planned for you!

  3. I was called to Him after my house was full of evil spirits lurking around shadows moving everywhere I would always sleep with a light on, somehow I felt more safe with the light on. I was awakened at 3am every night for a week “Debby wake up.” Talk about Him knowing you by name. He then said “Read your bible” something I never did other than on Sunday when I would reference a scripture as it was spoken. I knew the voice that was calling me could only be God because I was not scared at all. So I started reading the bible, it didn’t make much sense to me and when I got to the book of Leviticus I said “Oh boy, I don’t like this there is way too much blood here, what was God thinking.” Then I was led to the book of John. I said to myself now this I can read. God was trying to tell me, I’m here for you in all of this darkness. Cornerstone was where I met Him. It was like moving from the coolness of a shaded tree into the sunlight where you immediately feel the warmth of the sun and all you want to do is just stand still and soak it all in. That’s what I felt the day I met and received Jesus into my heart. I am forever grateful that He called me by name to join Him in the warmth of the Light. I’ll never forget it, it’s like it was yesterday. Thanks Pastor J, it’s always good to remember where you came from.

  4. I actually started writing an ebook I’m hoping to publish by February 2012, it’s about “Light”!
    It’s amazing seeing God work in mysterious ways! 🙂
    Thanks for sharing! 🙂

Leave a Reply

