Passion: Be Glad He’s Gone!

     I don’t understand Jesus. I love Him. I know His voice. However, I have to admit the first time I hear His voice on a matter I usually don’t get it. I suppose it has something to do with the difference in the sizes of our brains. I’m sure it can all be explained by the fact that He stands in eternity and I stand in time. Still the long story short is I don’t understand Him.

     At least I can take comfort in the fact that I am not alone. The disciples had a hard time understanding the Master too!

    Jesus fully admitted to His followers that He was the Messiah come to save Israel. Then at Passover 33 A.D.(ish) he told them all He was going to be handed over to Satan and die.

    Now in our world when two facts contradict each other we know that one must be true and the other false. But the disciples had left their world and had stepped into Jesus’ world. In Jesus’ world when He said two things that seemed to contradict it never meant one was true and the other false. It meant both were true and the suppositions behind one of the truths was faulty.

   For example: Fact 1 Jesus is the Messiah come to save Israel

                           Fact 2 Jesus is going to die.

    Now we can understand from our vantage point that both of these facts are true. Jesus the Messiah came to save Israel by dying on the cross.

    But the poor disciples were laboring under a faulty supposition about the Messiah. They thought the Messiah was coming to save them by waging war against the Romans. They didn’t understand there were much bigger fish to fry.

      So when Jesus told them, “I am going away, but I will come back to you again. If you really loved me, you would be happy that I am going to the Father, who is greater than I am. ” John 14:28 NLT,  I am sure that more than one of them said “Lord I don’t understand.”

      “Be Glad?” “Don’t be afraid?” “Is the man cracked?” I am pretty sure things of this nature were bouncing around in all of their heads. I know they would have been bouncing around in mine even if I had tried to put a man-face on it.

      The fact is that if the disciples had truly understood what was happening they would have been glad he was going…sad that it had to be…but so glad that he was willing.

     I guess it is the same with us. If only we could understand our circumstances from a better perspective we would see that God, as always, is working things for our good even if they look pretty terrible at the moment.

       I guess it’s O.K. that I don’t understand all that Jesus is doing right now. It means I have some faulty suppositions about certain truths. It means that Jesus is challenging those suppositions and is about to set them right. I’m kind of excited to find out all the things I am wrong about!

What are some the things you don’t understand about God?

2 thoughts on “Passion: Be Glad He’s Gone!

  1. Thank you, Pastor J

    I visited this piece quite a few times and each time I found something else to think on.

    I don’t understand Him either but I’m thankful He has it all worked out. Glad He went ahead of us and walked the road we couldn’t walk. How do we say thanks for that?!!

    What are some the things you don’t understand about God?
    They are many and varied but I’m learning to let Him do things in His time. I have tried everything from running my own show to banging my head against the wall and so far, that has not helped. I find I learn more when I sit at His feet and wait on Him — that there is one of the things I don’t understand. I cannot ‘help’ Him so that my answers come any sooner. I have to wait on His timing. I choose therefore to trust Him to work all things out in His time.

    You write with a humour but your posts are deep. Thank you for forcing me to think. May God continue to bless and multiply the giftings in you. ( Keep stirring!!)

    Waiting (even when I don’t understand)
    ann

    • Ann you about sum it up when you state He has it all worked out! I have come to understand that God is a master chess player and while I am stuck on the current move, He has already played the game move by move to the finish. Sometimes in the middle of the move I am quite certain He has made a fatal mistake but I know such certainties are illusory. As you said waiting on Him always proves He knows what He is doing.

Leave a Reply

