Pruning For Fruit Pt.2

           So as I was building my personal crown of thorns while weeding the other day I got to thinking about John 15

    Jesus said “I am the true vine, and my Father is the gardener. He cuts off every branch that doesn’t produce fruit, and he prunes the branches that do bear fruit so they will produce even more.” John 15:1,2 NLT

    As I entered my fourth hour of cutting and seeing very little change I heard the Spirit say “This is like many of my children.”

   Even after we repent of our sin I am convinced most of us don’t really understand what a tangled mess we have made of our lives. Sin has tendrils that wrap unseen around our inner fruit trees. It is these vines of darkness which remain even after Jesus comes into our lives as Lord and Savior. He has to pull them out in the process called sanctification.

    While we are instantly saved and bought into the Kingdom of Heaven, the process of making us into “fully devoted followers of Christ” takes time. It’s waiting for this which causes many to become frustrated with God and knock-off serving Him.

    I once had an unbelieving addict tell me “I tried Jesus, He didn’t work.”

    To which I said “It took you twenty years to get this messed up. Why did you think Jesus was going to fix you in five minutes at the altar?”

     As my day Saturday came to an end and my viny wilderness looked fairly untouched I comforted myself with these same words. My rose vines haven’t been touched in twenty-five years why did I think I would be able to prune them fully away in an afternoon?

    Have you ever been impatient waiting for God to fix your life?

2 thoughts on “Pruning For Fruit Pt.2

    • I feel a bot better knowing there are others in this boat with me. Patience, being one of the fruits of the Spirit, takes time to grow. I know it has been a slow process for me. I tend to rant at God a bit to show my displeasure. Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

