The Foundation

      In the earthquake which has become my life God has given me three words:

      “Everything that can be shaken will be shaken so that what cannot be shaken will remain.”

     “Set you face like flint for what lies ahead.”

     That’s two and it’ll have to do for now. The third word exists right now only in the collective conscious of my inner circle, safe for the day of vision.

     In the last months I have spent hours chewing on those first words the Lord spoke to me. You probably recognize them from Hebrews 12:22-27.

 “No, you have come to Mount Zion, to the city of the living God, the heavenly Jerusalem, and to thousands of angels in joyful assembly. You have come to the assembly of God’s firstborn children, whose names are written in heaven. You have come to God himself, who is the judge of all people. And you have come to the spirits of the redeemed in heaven who have now been made perfect. You have come to Jesus, the one who mediates the new covenant between God and people, and to the sprinkled blood, which graciously forgives instead of crying out for vengeance as the blood of Abel did See to it that you obey God, the one who is speaking to you. For if the people of Israel did not escape when they refused to listen to Moses, the earthly messenger, how terrible our danger if we reject the One who speaks to us from heaven When God spoke from Mount Sinai his voice shook the earth, but now he makes another promise: “Once again I will shake not only the earth but the heavens also.” This means that the things on earth will be shaken, so that only eternal things will be left.” Heb. 12:22-27 NLT

     The Lord had me stuck in Hebrews for six months about four years back. I remember reading chapter 12 again and again rejoicing each time that “I was come unto Mount Zion”. I neglected the fact that coming to Mount Zion in Hebrews 12 is spoken of in the larger context of going through the Lord’s discipline.

     I read of the shaking of all created things and assumed it referred to the end of the world… you know, the part of the book where I am in Heaven while all the “bad people” get judged. 

    It’s funny how we de-personalize the Scripture and assume that when the Book talks about things like national destruction or judgment that it refers to “those people”. When the Bible speaks of a nation’s sin causing the land to “vomit” the people out we assume it means everyone but us and ours. And when Jesus says “the love of most will grow cold” we just assume that “most” doesn’t include anyone in our family.

     I assumed that the shaking of everything that could be shaken included things I didn’t care about. See I knew about the parable of the house on the sand and the house on the rock in Matthew 7. I was quite sure that my life was built firmly on the solid rock which could not be shaken (I even know all the verses to “On Christ the Solid Rock I Stand”). I didn’t realize I had outbuildings of my life on the beach. I also didn’t realize that the shaking wasn’t going to wait for the tribulation when I would be safely off the planet. Jesus wasn’t necessarily speaking of the shaking of Yellowstone park or the Grand Canyon. He really meant everything in this world that was not firmly founded on Him and His Word (imagine that God actually meant what He said…go figure).

     Apparently everything in our life that is attached to the world and not firmly secured to the foundation of Jesus Christ is fair game. People the shaking has begun! HE’S NOT WAITING FOR THE RAPTURE!

    I suppose  I could spend some time shaking my fist at Heaven and declaring how unfair it is that the Scripture doesn’t fit my theology. But I am trying very hard to thank God that He is showing me what the Scripture really means. I am blessing Him for showing me that many of the things I pridefully took for granted as “covered by the blood” were really worldly attachments worthy of a good shake down. I am thankful that when the “blessed hope” does arrive I will be prepared as the bride of Christ on the foundation of Christ.

     All the crazy after-shocks aside, I am learning a lot about myself, my family, and my God. I have asked Jesus to help me not to miss the blessings amidst the bruises. I have asked Jesus to help me get every last piece of my life off the sinking sand and onto the foundation set for the saints.

     What are you asking God for in your trials?

2 thoughts on “The Foundation

  1. Thank you 🙂

    “I have asked Jesus to help me not to miss the blessings amidst the bruises.” I feel like I could camp right here!
    I am praying your prayer tonight too. I’m also learning to rest where He has placed me. Not always easy especially when I ‘know’ where I want to go.

    “It’s funny how we de-personalize the Scripture and assume that when the Book talks about things like national destruction or judgment that it refers to “those people”. When the Bible speaks of a nation’s sin causing the land to “vomit” the people out we assume it means everyone but us and ours. And when Jesus says “the love of most will grow cold” we just assume that “most” doesn’t include anyone in our family.”
    Funny, it’s true:-) It’s not me until it hits home with unmistakable accuracy!! Good thing is, when everything else gives way, He’s still right there waiting for me.

    God bless you and thanks again for sharing
    ann

Leave a Reply

