Ezekiel: 37

     So whose going to be President when the world blows up anyway? Will America still be in the driver’s seat of world politics? Will the United Nations still be in New York or will we take Robin Williams’ suggestion and move it to some remote island and make it a homeless shelter?

     The time has come for us to discuss that part of prophecy which deals with the world order and political structures of the last days. While certain things are up for debate, the Word of God does give us a fairly clear picture of what will be going on in the world at the time when Messiah, Jesus, asserts His reign on the planet.

     We should start with Ezekiel I suppose and Chapter 37 is as good a place as any to begin.

     “The LORD took hold of me, and I was carried away by the Spirit of the LORD to a valley filled with bones. He led me around among the old, dry bones that covered the valley floor. They were scattered everywhere across the ground….Then he said to me, “Speak to these bones and say, `Dry bones, listen to the word of the LORD!This is what the Sovereign LORD says: Look! I am going to breathe into you and make you live again! …So I spoke these words, just as he told me. Suddenly as I spoke, there was a rattling noise all across the valley. The bones of each body came together and attached themselves as they had been before. Then as I watched, muscles and flesh formed over the bones. Then skin formed to cover their bodies, but they still had no breath in them. Then he said to me, “Speak to the winds and say: `This is what the Sovereign LORD says: Come, O breath, from the four winds! Breathe into these dead bodies so that they may live again.’ ” Then he said to me, “Son of man, these bones represent the people of Israel. They are saying, `We have become old, dry bones–all hope is gone.’Now give them this message from the Sovereign LORD: O my people, I will open your graves of exile and cause you to rise again. Then I will bring you back to the land of Israel…. I will put my Spirit in you, and you will live and return home to your own land. Then you will know that I am the LORD. You will see that I have done everything just as I promised. I, the LORD, have spoken!” Ezek. 37:1-14 NLT

     Many people ask me how I can be so sure that we are living in the last days.

     My answer is simply, “Because Israel is a nation.”

     You see in order for God to accomplish all He said He would in the last days Israel has to be a sovereign nation shining in the world spotlight.

                                                                                         ( source: suzannewinter.net)

Without Israel much of what the prophets spoke could be nothing more than science/fantasy.

      From 70 A.D. until 1948 A.D. Israel did not exist as a sovereign nation. The Jews survived but dispersed among the nations for over 1800 hundred years! That they survived with a national identity at all is itself a miracle. No other nation having lost its homeland has lasted more than two generations before being absorbed into the populations in which they seek refuge. Israel did survive. Then came Hitler.

     In the aftermath of the Holocaust (which many today are foolishly denying ever took place) national Israel was reborn. This national rebirth and the Zionism which resulted is a direct fulfillment of Ezekiel 37. Israel’s rise as a national entity is perhaps the single most significant indication of the times we live in, because its rebirth according to Ezekiel is the precursor to the second coming of Messiah!

     “give them this message from the Sovereign LORD: I will gather the people of Israel from among the nations. I will bring them home to their own land from the places where they have been scattered. I will unify them into one nation in the land. One king will rule them all; no longer will they be divided into two nations….”My servant David will be their king, and they will have only one shepherd. They will obey my regulations and keep my laws….And I will make a covenant of peace with them, an everlasting covenant. I will give them their land and multiply them, and I will put my Temple among them forever. I will make my home among them. I will be their God, and they will be my people. Ezek 37:21-27 NLT

     Since 1948 the creation has been holding its breath waiting for the return of Messiah and for the most part mankind has been blissfully ignorant that it could happen at any moment. Let us be ignorant no longer. Let us be like the men of Issachar who understood the times they lived in and knew what to do.

2 thoughts on “Ezekiel: 37

Leave a Reply

