Pastor Wrinkles Corner: Messiah 1 The King

Let’s Review:

1.

2.

3.

4.

5.

During the time of the divided kingdom God began to raise up ________________. These were men who spoke for God to the _______________.

They urged people to _________________ of their sin and turn to God. Which means to stop sinning and live the way God wanted them to.

They also reported that if the people would not _________________. God would send a judgment on them and destroy their country.

But a third and ___________________ theme was about  the man the Jews called the ______________. God told the Jews he was going to send this man to:

1.__________________ people from their sin.

2. Restore the _________________ of Israel.

3. Judge the _________________.

Let’s find out a little bit more about this man.

1. He would be a great ________________.  Isaiah 9:6-8

2. He would be born of David’s family line in the city of _________________. “ But thou, Bethlehem Ephrata, [though] thou be little among the thousands of Judah, [yet] out of thee shall he come forth unto me [that is] to be ruler in Israel; whose goings forth [have been] from of old, from everlasting.

3. This King would make all the nations ______________.  Isaiah 60:3

Now In your groups:

1. The Bible tells us that Jesus was born in Bethlehem and He is a son of David’s line. But he did not claim his kingship when he was on earth. Why do you think He didn’t do this?

2. What do you think Jesus meant when he told his disciples “the kingdom of God is within you?” How do you feel about the kingdom of God being in you? Do you believe it? What does it mean?

Question of the week: What does it mean to you that Jesus is King? Does his being king effect you personally? Should it effect you more? Why or why not?

10 thoughts on “Pastor Wrinkles Corner: Messiah 1 The King

  1. What does it mean to you that Jesus is King? Does his being king effect you personally? Should it effect you more? Why or why not?

    The fact that jesus is the rightful king to the throne of Isreal means nothing to me. He could have been anyone from the king of Isreal to a pauper, it does not matter. What does matter is that he IS the son of god and he IS the savior of man. By doing what he did on the cross, he has a place above any king in my heart. Jesus is the king to a land mightier than any on earth, he is the King of the Kingdom of Heaven, by him all are saved, and that means far more to me, than being the King of an earthly nation.

  2. Question of the week: What does it mean to you that Jesus is King? Does his being king effect you personally? Should it effect you more? Why or why not?

    To me, Jesus is King means that he is has absolute power, authority, and control. He is the King over my life, and will soon reign as the literal King over the world. His being King definitely affects me! It means that I can give my problems to Him, all of my worries and my fears, and I know that He has the power to get me through all of it. If I let Him take control then I know that I will be okay. It also means that I can trust Him completely and be given a peace no matter what situation I am in. He deserves all glory, honor, and praise 🙂

  3. Question of the week: What does it mean to you that Jesus is King? Does his being king effect you personally? Should it effect you more? Why or why not?

    Jesus being king does not affect me.It affects me later, but right now it is meaningless.I still love him and, hold him highest in my life, and have a respect and all, but Jesus being king doesn’t affect me until the rapture.Right now, to me Jesus is King and all but to me it doesn’t matter, if he was an extremly rich man it wouldn’t matter, nor would it matter if he was born in a normal home and raised in the twenieth century.

    Well if this sounds wrong it’s because I couldn’t figure out a way to explain it correctly.

    • A very interesting answer. Right now the Kingdom of God is within our hearts. Jesus kingship is first and foremost about his ablility to have control over us. It’s about our obedience. Even when He comes back in the rapture His kingship will be about rule not necessarily about wealth or what He can give us. He is my King because I will follow Him to the death in battle against my enemy, Satan.

  4. It means a lot to me that Jesus is King, for a number of reasons. First of all, because He is King it means he has absolute rule over his Kingdom. Since the Church is representative of the Kingdom of God it means that he has absolute rule of the Church. This inevitably means that he is Ruler of me, my life, my actions, and my heart. Everything I think, say, and do should be reflective of His law, and in the knowledge of his omniscience, omnipresence, and omnipotence.

    Secondly (and I find this ironic) it is very interesting to me that we as Americans (myself included) fight so desperately to hold on to our liberty and freedom and individuality, claiming our Constitution to be modeled after Biblical morals and our nation “under God” when in the end we will all be under the dictatorship of Christ. Granted, Jesus is the only person I would not mind serving beneath, but it is intriguing.

    To answer the last part, it should always affect me more. Life is a journey, a passing, through the world and onto Christ. If at any point I feel I am outside of Christ’s kingship and beyond his law then I will be truly lost. It should be something I reflect on daily and meditate on ceaselessly.

    • THank you Zach for your well thought out answer. I too find the American mind-set intriguing in so many ways. American Christians live in an earthly democracy but owe their allegiance first to a Heavenly monarchy. It is a trul fine line to walk. 500,000 points.

Leave a Reply

