Vicious Victor’s

      Midnight has come and gone here at the Lillie house and I am still up, not even in my pajamas typing this blog and wondering, “Is it worth it all?” The day started at 5 A.M. and tomorrow is coming only too quickly.

      I got home from Ignite (our church’s youth ministry) tonight and set myself up to pray. I read a few chapters of Scripture and bowed my head. The next thing I knew my Bible was on the floor and the front of my shirt was all covered in drool.

     My head snapped back and I thought to myself, “Good grief! I forgot to send the worship service out to the worship team for practice this Thursday!”

    Then I thought, “Double good grief! I forgot to write the worship service for practice this Thursday!”

    These thoughts came on the heels of an hour-long lecture to my intern about the glories of organization in the ministry.

    So I have just come from a worship writing session which was spent largely second guessing myself. Am I cut out for this job?  Is this beyond me? Do I have what it takes?

     A little voice at the back of my head says “No you don’t have what it takes. You might as well give up. You will never get ahead. Do you really think that worship service is going to be any good?”

      I have walked the Christian Highway long enough to know what is probably coming next.

      “You might as well give up.” Satan will say. “In fact you might as well give in to temptation.” Who knows what he will offer. He always seems to have a full bag of tricks. “Just relax. Compromise with the world a little. This world of sin is too powerful for you and you are too weak to resist it. You must give in to my demands.”

     Anyone who has walked with Christ for any serious length of time at all has heard this lie more than once. Satan would have us believe that not only is the world beautiful and not only are weak but because of these two things we all are entirely unable to resist the temptation he brings into our lives. He would have us believe we will never be free. He would have us believe we have no choice but to obey the desires of the flesh.

     But the word of God says, “Sin shall not be your master because you are not under law but under grace.” Romans 6:14

     And Paul writes, “No temptation has taken you accept what is common to man. And God is faithful; He will not allow you to be tempted beyond what you can bear. But when you are tempted He will also provide a way out so that you can stand up under it.” I Corinthians 10:13

     It is time for us to begin believing the promises of Scripture, to begin taking the way out that God has promised for us with every temptation. When the enemy comes in to wear us down with life’s circumstances and then tempts us to embrace the world in thought word or deed we must remember we are not his servants and we do not need to obey!

     The time has come for us to be vicious victor’s.  We have to stop pussy-footing around with the Devil’s lies. We must take our faith by the horns and shake it until the promises of Scripture fall out.

    Let the weak say I am strong! Let the redeemed of the Lord say so and live so! Let the baptism in the Holy Spirit flow again in supernatural gifts, signs and wonders!

    Let us stop being attracted by the world and the things of the world. Now I am not suggesting that we should become so heavenly minded that we are of no earthly good but being a little  less “earthly good” wouldn’t hurt most of us.

     Let us believe that Jesus has really made us sons of God who have overcome the world with its passions and lusts. Let us be vicious victors. vicious in faith, in hope, and in love!

Leave a Reply

